1-09. furbelow

Furbelow.

About the illustration
I guess this entry and illustration is pretty straightforward. When my idea is lacking, I try to make it up with technique. I try.

So this girl is lifting her skirt to show her plain but lacy white panties peeking from under it. Her skirt is also frilly. I’m kind of poking fun at the classic Minnie Mouse who only wears her white polka dotted red skirt. Only. And you can see her petticoat or underwear because of her tiny skirt.

My illustration is somewhat similar to that idea. Skin is shown above the waist of the skirt. The skirt is red with white polka dots, and is frilly underneath it XD Although I’m poking fun at Minnie Mouse, it doesn’t mean I don’t like her. Disney cartoons were my beginning.

Why is she so vulgar as to lift her skirt? I wanted to answer the derogatory part of the entry without it having the same meaning.

Anyway, I think the skirtless version is better :D You can view it here. It’s not ‘finished’ though. I didn’t paint some parts because the skirt is supposed to cover it anyway. Oh, and I tried the skirt with black polka dots too. I prefer that to the white ones, but since Minnie’s skirt has white polka dots… (-___-) You can view that version here.

Cel shading (kind of?). Pen and brush tool in Adobe Photoshop CS.   

 Hit counter.

Page 328, entry 13: 
furbelow –
n. 1 a gathered strip or pleated border of a skirt or petticoat. 2 (in pl.; especially in phrase frills and furbelows) derog. showy ornaments. t.vr adorn with furbelows. [18th-century variant of falbala ‘flounce, trimming’]

Personal opinion (about the entry)
t.vr = transitive verb. Hee, if I understand correctly, I have two ideas on what to draw :D Hoho.

____________________________________________________________

 

9 Responses to “1-09. furbelow”


  1. 1 renchan April 10, 2007 at 12:00 am

    furbelow… sounds like a description of p**** hair ley… HAHAHAHAHAA okay, retrieving my mind from the gutter.

    lace sounds like a good option ;D

  2. 2 ALLY April 10, 2007 at 12:42 am

    Miss Renchan, !@#$%^^&(_+).

    Furbelow: With your dictionary explanation, I think of sexy lingerie.

  3. 3 ALLY April 10, 2007 at 12:43 am

    By the way, your illustrations are getting “lazier”. I think la. LOL.

  4. 4 SHa. April 10, 2007 at 2:17 am

    I think of the furry belly of Hobbes from Calvin & Hobbes *stops and muses, distant look on face* *gives self a -_- look* Lol. I guess furbelow would have immediate fashion links. Like ermine lining the edges of a queen’s rich red velvet gown. ;)

  5. 5 aisyah April 10, 2007 at 7:07 am

    To renchan, ALLY and SHa.,

    renchan, LOL. Yes, please retrieve your mind from the gutter.
    ALLY, lingerie’s good. And I’m sorry for them looking ‘lazier’ D; Like I said, trying all sorts of styles and some illustrations just fit some styles, you know. I’ll work harder on the next one. Really (: LOL. (I should put a time constraint, cos man, these things are taking up the time meant for the other projects! D:)
    SHa., haha, I don’t read Calvin & Hobbes so I assume that Hobbes is that tiger character? (It is a tiger?) WAH. Ermine lining.

    Thanks guys~ :D

  6. 6 joanna April 10, 2007 at 10:18 pm

    furbelow reminds me of those frills and laces, like those attached to clothes, the stuff that i dislike wearing :P. great drawings! gambatte!

  7. 7 aisyah April 10, 2007 at 11:45 pm

    To joanna,

    LOL. I see. Thanks for your interpretation and the compliment!! (^___^)

  8. 8 choo April 12, 2007 at 1:56 am

    Furbelow sounds funny to me, if without the interpretation from the dict.. lol

    I like mickey mouse more.. hahahaha.. and yea u can read calvin and hobbes on the newspaper~ XD Hobbes is kawaii.. haha

  9. 9 aisyah April 12, 2007 at 11:14 pm

    To choo,

    Haha, funny in what way? ;D

    I prefer Mickey to Minnie too, but Minnie is still likeable. Yeah, in the NewPaper, right? But I don’t get what’s so nice about it though XD


Leave a Reply

L’Histoire de Montage

- Check the hit counter every day at 11PM.
- Go to that page on the dictionary.
- Add the digits of the hit counter together, and count to get that particular entry.
- Make a digital illustration by the next day's 11PM.
- Make a montage of all the illustrations at the end of 15 days.
- Write a story based on the montage.

For more detailed information about the system, please proceed to About or FAQ.

Disclaimer

This blog is a system created by Aisyah, for her 4D final project. The layout, images, illustrations and stories on this website are © Aisyah unless otherwise stated.


