1-12. humanitarian

Humanitarian.

About the illustration
The link from the entry ‘humanitarian’ and my illustration is that there are people from many races, religion and culture who need human welfare, and not only those from third world countries.

My illustration is of a whirlwind of people. The different races are to represent the different people from all walks of life involved in human welfare, and the spiraling of the people is actually to give an impression of the people being in a circle to represent that it’s a global mission, and that the number of people involved are many although in my illustration, the impression given is ‘endless’. I was very tempted to draw the Earth under the swirl of people D:

I suppose the stereotype for this entry would be linking hands of different races surrounding the Earth? :D

Cartoon & Vector. Pen, brush and pencil tool in Adobe Illustrator CS.     

 Hit counter.

Page 397, entry 19: 
humanitarian n. 1 a person who seeks to promote human welfare. 2 a philanthropist. adj. 1 of, relating to, or holding the views of humanitarians. 2 of or relating to human welfare (on humanitarian grounds). humanitarianism n.

Personal opinion (about the entry)

____________________________________________________________

 

11 Responses to “1-12. humanitarian”


  1. 1 renchan April 13, 2007 at 5:25 pm

    a;’kdslfc CUTE!!!!

    It looks like they’re all spiraling happily into a vortex of dubious origins sia!! XDDD

    it would be cuter (to me) if they were shooting special powers defined by their races. or sthg

  2. 2 aisyah April 13, 2007 at 8:16 pm

    To renchan,

    Hahaha. Thank you!! :D

    And lol, what kind of powers? *interested*

  3. 3 renchan April 13, 2007 at 8:36 pm

    chinese are stereotyped to know kungfu, japanese have the hadouken (lol TAKASANNNN BURNNINGGGGGG).

    er, ang mohs have what, red hair? can’t think of western stereotypes. hmm, the rest are difficult to think of la. *irresponsible* XDDDDD

  4. 4 aisyah April 13, 2007 at 10:06 pm

    To renchan,

    Hahahaha. Might as well draw the whole cast of Street Fighters then ;D

  5. 5 renchan April 14, 2007 at 1:20 am

    ya hor. just don’t draw that long blonde plaited haired guerilla swimsuit girl.

    i always thought she was a rip-off from chun li :P

  6. 6 aisyah April 14, 2007 at 1:47 am

    To renchan,

    You mean Cammie? (I don’t know how to spell her name.) She’s okay. She’s pretty cool. I like her kick that looks like a cockscrew kick XDD

    But yeah, my favourite is definitely Chun Li! XD She rawks! I always use her when playing XDD

    But nuh, can’t draw them ba. It’ll be fanart! :D (Oh, which means if I changed how these characters in my illustration to look like Street Fighter people, I can submit the fanart to dA XD Hahaha.)

  7. 7 Michael Malek April 15, 2009 at 11:22 pm

    I am conducting a community choir in Hope AR. and performing a program of folk music from various cultures. Could I have permission to use the beautiful illustration above as a program cover as it catches the spirit of my program? Would be so happy to give the artist full credit.

  8. 8 Michael Lambert December 5, 2009 at 2:56 am

    Hi,

    We would like to use your picture on our website. We are developing humanitarian websites that will change the world.
    (Believe me!) There is NOTHING else like what we are doing.
    We have been working on these for 20 months now, and projected opening is at least another 6 months (???) away.

    We will pay you for your artwork, eventually, but not right away.
    Also, because you are obviously a humanitarian as well, we would like you to join our team. We cannot pay you for your work now, but we will give you an EQUAL profit-sharing partnership, if you are willing to put in at least 20 hours worth of work per week.
    Within a year or two you should be a millionaire from these websites. Let me know if you would like to investigate? But if you are not interested in becoming a working partner with us, please at least send me your contact info so that when we are ready to start paying for pictures used, etc. we can have your info on file. Thanks!

    sincerely,

    Michael Lambert

    talkingchinese@yahoo.com

    • 9 AI January 11, 2010 at 1:24 pm

      Hello Michael,

      I apologise for the late reply. If you are really interested in using my illustration, please contact me through e-mail and we can discuss there.

      My e-mail is aissumi(at)gmail.com.

      Thank you.

      Best regards,
      Aisyah

  9. 10 Stef January 2, 2010 at 4:17 am

    Hi there,
    I liked your picture at first sight. It´s simple and brillant – and that´s art.

    But watching further – I´m German and a bit fuzzy about it – the man with the black trousers and the beige shirt looks a bit like… sorry to say… like Hitler. Therefore I´m a bit taken aback by it.

    Simply change the colour of the shirt and give him a smile… and soon he will look much more “unlike Hitler”.

    Thanks a lot— I really love ypur picture… but as a respectful and considering person…

    Best wishes

    • 11 AI January 11, 2010 at 2:01 pm

      Hello Stef,

      Thank you.

      When you said ‘the man with the black trousers and beige shirt’, are you referring to the 2nd largest figure from the front? (Because I don’t have any other character in black trousers.)

      If yes, that is actually, a Malay man.(I’m a Malay girl.) What you see as a moustache (which I’m assuming you think is), is the character’s mouth. The type of brush I used just made the mouth look like a moustache. Eep.

      I’m really sorry if the illustration offended you in any way. I’m definitely not a fan of Hitler, and I’m absolutely against war and discrimination.

      Thank you for pointing it out though. Although I would love to edit the illustration, I’ve lost all of my working files due to my hard disk crashing a few months after the illustrations on this website was made. I’ll take your opinions into consideration should I make illustrations of a similar nature (:

      Best regards,
      Aisyah


Leave a Reply

L’Histoire de Montage

- Check the hit counter every day at 11PM.
- Go to that page on the dictionary.
- Add the digits of the hit counter together, and count to get that particular entry.
- Make a digital illustration by the next day's 11PM.
- Make a montage of all the illustrations at the end of 15 days.
- Write a story based on the montage.

For more detailed information about the system, please proceed to About or FAQ.

Disclaimer

This blog is a system created by Aisyah, for her 4D final project. The layout, images, illustrations and stories on this website are © Aisyah unless otherwise stated.


